Been a while!

Whew i didn’t realize I hadn’t blogged in almost a month!

I’ve had a bit of stress these past few weeks. One of our mares had a lump under her jaw. This wasn’t a new development. She had it about a year. Well a few weeks ago it started effecting her breathing. The vet came out and did bloodwork. Nothing out of the ordinary. Well her breathing got worse. Second vet came out and wasn’t hopeful. We tried a steroid but this past Sunday night she passed away in her sleep. I found her Monday morning. It wasn’t a huge shock because I had come to terms with that being a possibility. I had prayed for peace, I had prayed for her to be healed and I prayed for the ability to do what was best for her. We have peace. She’s been healed. And God did what was best for her. A priest friend of mine from high school also passed away early Monday morning. My husband found solace in that- someone I knew was going to heaven the same night our Leaha did! Father must’ve needed a good horse šŸ˜‰

We have been spending extra time with Elle since she is an only horse now. Extra carrots, extra grooming time, extra hay, and we’d give her extra love too but I’m not sure how to increase that past “maximum”! Considering getting goats, sheep, another horse, or some combination of all of those.

Today being Saint Patrick’s day I made a point to post a few things on Facebook and text a few people who I need to talk to more often;Ā someĀ friends, some family. It made me a little sad realizing there are so many family members I’m not “friends” with on Facebook. I know Facebook is not the be all and end all for relationships, but seeing as I have many relatives who live far away and we don’t get to see often, to me it makes sense to keep in touch using something like Facebook. I don’t have email lists, address lists or everyone’s phone number.

These past few weeks have been stressful, hectic feeling, we’ve had to miss a birthday party because we were all sick (still fighting the residual cold grossness!), and full of anxiety and sadness.

Needless to say I am greatly looking forward to Holy Week!!!

What are your plans for Holy Week?

Leave a Reply

