Saturday vocation

This past weekend was what I hope the rest of my weekends look like for the rest of my life. Seriously. A few awesome riders on Saturday morning with my superstar mare Elle, time spent with family and friends for lunch, confession at my parish, and then an awesome dinner with a bonfire! Sunday my husband was off of work, so we all went to Mass, we went out to breakfast with my parents and my brother, then we spent some family time at home before taking care of the horses and going to my parents for dinner.

Of course the kids acted up. Of course my husband and I rolled our eyes at each other for silly things. Of course the fire took forever to light (we ended up using a whole cardboard box and several pieces of large paper!). But if things were always exactly just so, would we actually appreciate the perfection in our imperfect lives?

Confession is one of those things that you either embrace or reject as archaic and “outdated”. I encourage you as a child of The Risen Lord to embrace it! Confession is not about confessing to a man. Although Christ told his apostles, “whose sins you forgive are forgiven and whose sins you bind on earth are bound in heaven”, the priest is in a very unique vocation to allow Christ and the Holy Spirit to use them to forgive and absolve sins! So when the priest acts “in the person of Christ”, he is not himself. He is allowing the Holy Spirit to guide what he says, what he does, and how he reacts to the penitent! What an awesome vocation to allow Christ to use you for salvation!

In everything we were able to do this weekend together as a family, two things stick out in my mind. Getting to go to confession, and going to Mass as a family. The imperfections fade into the background. Luckily with Christ, our imperfections are taken away with the sacraments when we allow His grace in!

May the Grace and Peace of Christ be with you today and every day!

Mary, Our Mother, Pray for Us!

Leave a Reply

